Whew! Well after running a straight week going here or there it is nice to be able to sit down and start updating all of you fellow book obsessed lovelies on all the good and bad I have read as of late. Keep in mind this particular review is not featured as a Series Spotlight because although I enjoyed it, it is not one I would consider a favorite. I guess I am in the minority when it comes to those that have completed this series.

Review Highlights:

Genre: Teens & YA

Age: 15+

Recommendation: I think it is a cute series that will appeal for sure to teenagers (obviously) but could be a little bland for the adult reader that is used to complex and detailed plot lines.

Type: Series, there are five books out at this time with several novellas and spin offs available.

Pages: somewhere in the 300’s for each book.

Pricing: Medium to high. When purchased as a four book set you are looking at close to $40.00. The first book in the series is $5.00 for the e-book. Luckily though, this series has been out for so long that many of the local libraries carry the first three books so that will save you some money.

Summary: + interesting plot -increasingly fickle and indecisive main female character- annoying love interest + mostly continuous action with a few stagnant periods -repetative +developed cast of supporting characters +decent world building

Description: 

The first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series! Discover a breathless fairy-tale romance with swoon-worthy characters, glittering gowns, fierce intrigue, and a dystopian world that will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Ally Condie’s Matched, and Lauren Oliver’s Delirium.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want.

Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined

Full Review: 

Here ye, Here ye…let it be known that I only read the first three books so it is possible that the fourth is just AMAZING but probably not.  The Selection is a combination of the Bachelor and The Hunger Games but instead of fighting for their lives, there are a bunch of girls sitting around in heels and tights fighting amongst themselves for the right to marry up in status and snag the prince. In a world where there are castes (much like the real world now) and you are born into your station, rarely do people rise above and make a better life for themselves. Each person is given a number and a list expected occupations. The higher the number, the increased wages and better living conditions.

America, a girl who spends her days working and her nights hiding in a tree house with a boy of a much lower station, is pressured into joining The Selection, a tradition honored in her country that allows girls from all over to submit pictures and profiles in a hope to be picked to compete for the hand of the Prince. Annoyed and less than willing, America submits a picture in an attempt to quell her family and mend her recently broken heart. Knowing good and well that the competitors are paid, America agrees to tolerate the competition for as long as possible in order to keep her family fed. This story follows America through the process of both getting to know the Prince, and discovering life outside of her previous dreary existence.

For me, this book series was just okay. The first book is by far the best and to be honest the third book left little for me to look forward to. I have no idea how the author was able to push out a fourth and fifth book and stretch it to novellas as well. As stated before, I only read the first three and after that one, no longer felt the need to continue. My biggest complaint is the heroine America. She got on my nerves the entire series. I was having some serious Edward-Bella-Jacob style rage by the end of the second book and the transition that America completed throughout all three drove me nuts. I just wanted her to make up her damn mind and it be believable, which by the end it wasn’t really. I understand she is supposed to represent the few, the lower caste girl just trying to represent the people and blah blah blah. She managed to fit the profile some of the time, and the rest she was just a big ball of complicated teen angst. No thank you.

The world building is decent, you get an idea how the castes work and why they are there. You have a general understanding of the rebels plight and why what happens occurs the way it does but it isn’t super descriptive. The best part of the storyline for me was the interaction between America and the other girls. You really are able to get to know them, the important ones anyways.You get to see them grow along side America. Prince Maxon is just as frustrating as America. Indecisive, beaten down and unable to stand up for himself, the way he is portrayed emasculates him in a way and makes him way less appealing.

Overall, I think this series is appealing to teenagers and mature tweens. As an adult reader with more complex book needs, I found this series less than exciting ( outside of the first book.)

Disclaimer: I obtained these books from the library, however this review is my honest opinion and not influenced by anyone.

 On Amazon: The Selection

On Goodreads: The Selection