I know what you must be thinking..this review is so late, this book has been out forever! Yes, it has been out and I read it a long time ago but in true Book Mafia Blog fashion, each review I write is done so directly after reading it, or re-reading it in this case.  Plus, I just got my copy of the next book in this series A Court of Mist and Fury, so I am stoked to tear into it after I am finished writing this.

Review Highlights:

Genre: Teens, Fantasy

Age: 16+

Recommendation: Super yes! This is one of my favorites and I cannot tell you how much I love it. Well, I could but that would just get annoying.

Type: Series

Pages: 432

Summary: +awesome world building +unique plot +steady pace +interesting romance +addictive heroine

Description:

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin–one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin–and his world–forever.

Full Review:

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a book that I have been searching for since… well forever. I have long desired a book series that sucks me in immediately and has everything I am looking for. With action, romance, fantasy, drama, this book has it all!

Feyre, is a strong-willed, self-reliant heroine who raised herself despite her pathetic father and helpless sisters, and does all she can to protect her family. In a world that lives its days in fear of the their ancient predecessors that still neighbor their lands, those that survive through the winter can count themselves a lucky few. With hardly any food, Feyre hunts in the woods surrounding her house, dangerously close to the border of the realm of the Fae out of desperation. After making a decision that unknowingly changes her life, Feyre is taken captive by those very Fae everyone fears. This story follows her experience in an unfamiliar world with an unexpected Fae Lord.

I just..can’t explain how good this book is. The world building is fantastic, well detailed and completely thought out. The characters are deep and well-built. The chemistry between Tamlin and Feyre is developed and progresses at a nice rate. The plot is wholly original and captivating. There are no negatives I can even think of with this book expect for the fact I feel like Feyre should be way more PISSED than she is. That is a rant for another day I am afraid.

This book will appeal to anyone mature enough to read it. This is one of my all time favorites, and I wouldn’t suggest it so strongly if it weren’t.

Disclaimer: I obtained this book from the library. No one gave me a free copy in exchange for an honest review, BUT an honest review you get 🙂

On Amazon: A Court of Thorns and Roses

On Goodreads: A Court of Thorns and Roses