Review Highlights:

Genre: Mystery/Thriller, General Adult Fiction

Age: 18+

Recommendation: Yes, for fans of Gillian Flynn and Alice Sebold. This book is almost impossible to put down.

Type: Stand alone, there is a novella published called The Whispering Hollows that is an introduction to The Hollow’s and features stories about Finley’s grandmother Eloise.

Pages: 352

Summary: +action packed +keeps your guessing +full-bodied characters +interesting plot +no cliffhanger +plot twists galore +detailed and well written +not overpowered by romance.

Description:

Twenty-year-old Finley Montgomery is rarely alone.  Visited by people whom others can’t see and haunted by prophetic dreams, she has never been able to control or understand the things that happen to her. When Finley’s abilities start to become too strong for her to handle – and even the roar of her motorcycle or another dazzling tattoo can’t drown out the voices – she turns to the only person she knows who can help her: her grandmother Eloise Montgomery, a renowned psychic living in The Hollows, New York.

Merri Gleason is a woman at the end of her tether after a ten-month-long search for her missing daughter, Abbey.  With almost every hope exhausted, she resorts to hiring Jones Cooper, a detective who sometimes works with psychic Eloise Montgomery.  Merri’s not a believer, but she’s just desperate enough to go down that road, praying that she’s not too late.  Time, she knows, is running out.

As a harsh white winter moves into The Hollows, Finley and Eloise are drawn into the investigation, which proves to have much more at stake than even the fate of a missing girl.  As Finley digs deeper into the town and its endless layers, she is forced to examine the past, even as she tries to look into the future.  Only one thing is clear: The Hollows gets what it wants, no matter what.

Full Review:

One of the most noticeable wins with Ink and Bone is the way the author is able to tell the same moment from multiple point of views and make each scene fit like a puzzle piece. Each piece allows the reader to get closer and closer to figuring out the truth, without creating confusion or inconsistencies. I think it is the combination of the elements of mystery and the hard-earned redeeming moments of clarity together that really enhances the reader experience. I almost had a feeling of ah ha! when the clues all started to make sense. There are a lot of little things that are mentioned in a very understated way that end up being crucial spokes in the proverbial wheel later in the story. You feel like you know what is coming, then it arrives and you are like.. wait. what?

The main character, Finley is a girl who has no idea who she is. Just like her grandmother, Finley has a gift. She see’s people others don’t see. She hears things others don’t hear. She is destined to become something but has no idea what. Her grandmother is a world-famous psychic that works with the police in missing person’s case and has actually located several missing people/bodies. But when a angst ridden mother comes to her family for help, her grandmother feels nothing. This time it is Fins turn to develop and become someone better than herself. Too bad neither of them have any idea how to do it. This book follows Fin, our main character,and a cast of others during their attempt to solve the mystery of what happened to a little girl who was taken and what happened to those who disappeared before her.

One of the most interesting things about this book is how all the characters are sensitive to the world around them. With the exception of Fin’s mother and a few others, everyone involved in the task of searching for the truth has their own special assistance to offer. I love that each and every one of them holds some sort of significance and that every action leads to the final conclusion at the end. The world building is robust and gives a total picture of what is going on. There are no loose ends and no cliffhanger. The way that the author wraps everything up isn’t overly clean either, there are human elements of imperfection that linger and it makes it feel more real. I really enjoyed this read and I feel like it would be perfect for people who enjoy a more in-depth experience that wraps you up and holds you hostage until it’s over. It is emotional, sad, and full of dark and twisty moments. Good luck accomplishing any adulting when in the middle of this one, just give up on pants and direct your people to the frozen pizzas. Ink and Bone is set to be released on June 7th, 2016.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review via NetGalley. Thank you so much, Lisa Unger and Touchstone Publishing.