Genre: Fantasy, Teens &YA

Age: 16+

Recommendation: Yes, to anyone that likes paranormal reads with a likeable heroine, unique plot, a intriguing love triangle and an eventual HEA.

Type: Switched, Torn and Ascend are all released.

Summary: + unique plot +likable heroine + great chemistry between lead characters +plot twists +decent amount of action +awesome but mildly cheesy ending +swoon worthy romance ( eventually.)


Amanda Hocking is an indie publishing sensation whose self-published novels have sold millions of copies all over the world, and Switched is the book that started the phenomenon. Prepare to be enchanted…

When Wendy Everly was six years old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. Eleven years later, Wendy discovers her mother might have been right. She’s not the person she’s always believed herself to be, and her whole life begins to unravel—all because of Finn Holmes.

Finn is a mysterious guy who always seems to be watching her. Every encounter leaves her deeply shaken…though it has more to do with her fierce attraction to him than she’d ever admit. But it isn’t long before he reveals the truth: Wendy is a changeling who was switched at birth—and he’s come to take her home.

Now Wendy’s about to journey to a magical world she never knew existed, one that’s both beautiful and frightening. And where she must leave her old life behind to discover who she’s meant to become…

As a special gift to readers, this book contains a new, never-before-published bonus story, “The Vittra Attacks,” set in the magical world of the Trylle.


Thoughts/Full Review:

I have been so busy lately with new review requests that I have neglected my beloved Series Spotlight posts. Sorry guys! Just in case you are late to the party, this particular group of posts are aimed at highlighting all of the completed or mostly completed book series that are near and dear to my heart.

This week’s focus is The Trylle Trilogy by Amanda Hocking. Released in early 2002, the first book in the series, Switched, immediately caught my eye because the book features a Changeling theme, and I at the time, had never read anything like it. So glad I coughed up the cash and bought it because, I have since read the entire trilogy probably a dozen times.

Ohh, the feels this book gives me. Wendy Everly is a regular girl with a few odd quirks who spends her days just trying to get through class without falling asleep and trying to deal wtih her mom drama. Well it may be a bit more than mere drama, her mother is locked up in an institution for trying to kill her when she was a child. Apparently, always convinced that Wendy wasn’t her child, she lost it and attempted to do the unthinkable. Smart, loved and resourceful, Wendy lives with her brother and her aunt and maintains a simple life. All is boring until the day she met Finn Holmes. Ostentatious, flirty and extremely frustrating, Finn is impossible to ignore. After being saved from a  group of mysterious kidnappers that no one wants to be caught in an alley with alone, Wendy is forced to a stunning realization, she may not be who she thinks she is.

The characters in this series are well built, have complex feelings and the world building is fantastic. You don’t have to question what is going on or how everything works because it is all explained for you clearly. The relationships are believable and Wendy is easy to like Finn is what snagged my interest the most in this first book. I love that he is conflicted and protective and an all around hot mess. This book trilogy is a great escape from reality and a unique take on paranormal fiction.

On Amazon: Switched

On Goodreads: Switched

On B&N: Switched